Local object physics - noob scripting Q: velocity

I’m new to Haxe and amateur at script in any language.

Problem: trying to utilize physics set/get velocity features from within a script but not sure what file(s) / package to import (KodeStudio keeps spitting out errors about not finding the function definition). Or is it called something else outside of the logic node? I’m trying to access and change values that are also found in setAngularVelocity() from the the velocity logic node(s).

The node system is awesome and does all of the basic stuff I need (and I really appreciate those of you working on armory3d), but I’m trying to get angular physics to have a local effect on an object by using a custom Haxe script to manipulate a few nuances of how physics elements are applied.

Any help or links are appreciated!

PS
Apologies if this is covered somewhere already; if so, I would be grateful for a link.

I did see this link and maybe my question is in the wrong forum space.

I have tried accessing rigidbody properties with Haxe and though I can do some things with it, I still can’t figure out how to manipulate velocity data from a Haxe script.

I am sure this is an issue with my low-level of understanding on the matter, so if someone smart wants to have pity on me… :slight_smile:

Don’t worry, everyone has to start somewhere. I recommend checking the armory examples and the templates from the official repo to see some examples of things already done working, more specifically the platformer/first-person/third-person templates, check the scripts source for those projects to have some examples of code.

1 Like

thanks for the reply!

I have checked out some of the exmaples (they’re great). For the fps and camera control (and others), I can get those working and fumble my way through my syntax and grammar errors to do my own things with the functions and examples. Was there a specific example on git that you were thinking about?