Serializing objects in json

Hi all, I’m just beginning with haxe/kha/iron/armory and I’m a bit lost on how to do common stuff like serialize and deserialize objects. I haven’t tried the haxe.Serializer/haxe.Unserializer yet I was experimenting with Json and realized that I can’t use sys.io I got “You cannot access the sys package while targeting js (for sys.io.File)” even if I have not specified any target yet.
Anyway I tried digging into armory code to see how json were handled and discovered that it’s possible to read the file system using kha.Blob and I was able to read json like this:

typedef User = {
    var id : Int; 
    var name : String; 
}
class ReadJson extends iron.Trait {
	public function new() {
		super();
		iron.data.Data.getBlob('users.json', function(usersB:kha.Blob) {
			var usersS : String = usersB.toString();
			var users:Array<User> = haxe.Json.parse(usersS);
			for (u in users) {
				trace ("user: " + u.name);     
			}
		});	
	}
}
json [{"name": "foo", "id": 1 },{"name": "Eli", "id": 2}]

but how to write them back? (I’ve tried with var f:FileOutput = File.write(file,false); f.writeString(str); f.close(); but I got the above sys target error)

It’s this the way to go if one want’s to save for example game status?

I believe it depends on which platform you target (i.e. C++ or Krom). I think (although not sure) you should be able to use the sys package if you target C++. If you target Krom, you need to use Krom.fileSaveBytes.
You might find some inspiration in Armory’s config file.

Here’s a quick example of saving:

var saveData = haxe.io.Bytes.ofString(haxe.Json.stringify(“SaveDataToBecomeBytes”));
Krom.fileSaveBytes(“./YourSaveNameHere.yourFileFormat”, saveData.getData());

Here’s how to load:

iron.data.Data.getBlob(‘example.dat’, function(blobData:kha.Blob) {
loadData = haxe.Json.parse(blobData.toString());
});

Thanks Naxela, somehow I’ve missed to check that file, very useful example indeed.