A beginner asks Is it possible?

Hi I’m a complete beginner when it comes to game engines but I’m jumping in with a small project and wanted to know if Armory would be capable of doing the following(Preferably with logic nodes as I’m too stupid for code/life):

• Altering the strength of a Blender Wind forcefield to push a bunch of rigid body objects across a surface
  • Linking said strength property to a UI slider where a user can drag to increase/decrease the force
  • Using a cloth simulation to create a flag which is affected by the wind strength.

I’ve poked around with a few settings and watched a few tutorials but would like to know if it’s worth me pursuing this avenue or looking elsewhere.

Thanks in advance!

In general that wouldn’t be too difficult, except for a couple of points:

1. I don’t think that wind force fields work in Armory at the moment
  2. I don’t think UI sliders are integrated with Logic Nodes

If it weren’t for the above points, I would say that that would be extremely simple. :slight_smile: Logic nodes are easy to work with and the logic for what you are outlining is very simple.

If you wanted you could just apply a sideways ( whatever direction ) force to each of the rigid bodies that you want to effect and maybe pin the cloth to an invisible animated object that moves up and down relative to the wind speed to fake wind, but that is making it a little more complicated, and you still can’t get the slider value in your logic nodes. :confused: It isn’t something that shouldn’t be implemented in the future, but it isn’t in there yet.

2 Likes

Anyone that can get the sliders working in nodes would have my undying gratitude. Especially if you can change the slider based on a property value (health etc ) and not the mouse.

1 Like

That’s great info thank you! I’ll have a play around with using an apply force and some other methods of user interaction rather than a slider. It’s a great bit of software