Climbing theory in FPS or TPS?

Couldn’t find this already posted…

If you have physics for your characters and want them to climb a wall or anything vertical, how is this typically accomplished in a FPS or third person type game? For example, what is the basic theory for climbing in the Tomb Raider series or the ropes in games like Rainbow 6?

If someone has a link to an answer for a different engine, that’s fine, too – Im not trying to reinvent the wheel. :slight_smile:

EDIT: I’m thinking specifically about gravity but maybe I haven’t learned enough about setting up an FPS to tackle this yet. Apologies if it’s a stupid question!

2 Likes

I would very much like to know the answer to your question myself. I’m no professional, but from what I can tell, most people simply use either a collision-proxy object for detecting collision with the player when it’s near, or they use a physics trigger to detect when the player is near. The climbing delays could be driven by a timer. (IF in contact with player → player height/gravity +=1.)

I’m aware this might not be the answers you were looking for, but there are numerous tutorials out there for this I believe for other game engines.

1 Like

It’s the first time I’ve done this, I guess it’s not the most elegant way to do it…
Anyway here I leave a sample file of how to go up and down a “ladder”
(Scroll with the up, down and jump back to drop the ladder with space)(left click to reset the position of the “cube”).
I hope that if someone finds another way to do it, I would like you to let me know.

small error in the above file :sweat_smile:
reuploaded

references and scrolling to the sides

2 Likes

I’m not near my computer, right now, so I can’t test what you’ve done. But, the way I, a total amateur, would try is to not involve dynamic physics, like from a dedicated engine, at all.