Create New Tree Workflow Thoughts

Just sayin’
I feel like it would help stream line the work flow a tiny bit if when you create a “New Trait Item” for Nodes, there is a +New button to the left of the Tree select box.
NewNodeTraits
You name your new trait, it pops up in the Tree select, and in the Node Viewer. In the very least the +New button next to the tree select would be sweet.
Right now the work flow is like this:

-Add new trait,
-mover over to node window, create new node tree,
-go back to parameter and select your node tree,
-then go back to node window and do your thing.

It just seems like something that could be smoothed out a bit.
I don’t want to come across as critical. I really like this engine, I hope it doesn’t fall to the wayside in the wake of ArmorPaint. Who ever is working on Armory3D… keep up the good work.
M

3 Likes

I did it =)

I’m not very good at API (Blender and Armory3D), but I got curious, and I found it not a difficult task.
As a result, a button like this appeared:
new_button

Now, when creating a NodeTree, a window will appear for entering a name, and if there is an empty string in the list, then it will be installed there.

In order for this button to appear, you need to replace the engine’s Python script in the folder “…\ArmorySDK\armory\blender\arm\props_traits.py” with mine:
props_traits.py
Added ArmNewTreeNodeDialog class (line 475) and button description (line 774) to the script.

If the developers of the engine are satisfied with such an implementation, I will make a pull to the main repository.
Checked for version Blender 2.83.5

3 Likes

Awesome!

A few small remarks:

• Operator/UI labels in Blender are usually in title case, so New Node Tree instead of New node tree