How to list objects a script or logic node attached?

Hello,

I’m new to Armory so I’m like a child learning a new environment and have lots of questions :slight_smile:

I’d like to list all the objects a script or logic node attached to them. Is this possible in Blender or Kode Studio?

@ArgosOz, since object references can be fetched during runtime (using Scene.getChild(“objName”) for example) I don’t know any way of getting a list of all objects which is referenced from a trait (script), except keeping track of that manually with an array where you insert and remove references as you go.

The opposite is simple though, object.traits holds an array with all the traits which is associated with that object.

1 Like

If you are writing the script yourself, it could be done like this:

package arm;

import iron.object.Object;
import iron.Trait;

class MyTrait extends Trait {

// Static variable shared for all trait instances
	static var users:Array<Object> = [];

public function new() {
		super();

notifyOnAdd(function() {
			// Trait was just added to 'object'
			users.push(object);
			// Print to console
			trace(users);
		});
	}
}

Then notifyOnRemove() could be also used to clean up the users array if needed.

To detect if trait is present, doing something like object.getTrait(RigidBody) != null should do.

Thank you all. That’s very helpful.

If I could have a way to see the connection in between traits and objects in Blender, that would be great, quick and easier to follow examples for newbies like me. Right now I have to click through the objects in the Blender’s Outliner to find out the object and the script relations. If I could type the trait name for example, could Blender list the connected objects like this?

Luckily most of the examples have one trait and it’s attached to the camera :slight_smile:

@Lubos, I’d like to thank you very much for all the great work you’ve done. I love the environment very much!

Really cool to hear you love Armory so far!