How to move camera from mouse movement?

Hi, I’m new to Armory and have been playing around with it a bit and was wondering how to make the camera move from a third-person perspective using the mouse movement as an input. So far all I can think of is parenting the camera to an empty for the pivot point and using the get mouse movement node to rotate the empty, but this causes some weird camera movement. Any suggestions?
(I’m on blender 2.83 and using the newest version of Armory also sorry for the question I can’t find any good tutorials.)
By the way, I’m not new to blender just Armory so I’ll understand the technical terms :).

Hi,

Parenting the camera to an empty and then rotating is the simplest way to do it, and it should work. Could you elaborate on the “weird movements”? If you mean the rotation is too fast, try using a Math node and multiply a small value to the mouse movements.

Best,
QC

2 Likes

Hi, in terms of weird movements, the camera does rotate too fast and I have tried to multiply by small number which does slow it down, but the camera continues to move in one singular direction (up toward the left).

Hi, in terms of weird movements, the camera does rotate too fast and I have tried to multiply by small number which does slow it down, but the camera continues to move in one singular direction (up toward the left).

In fact there is a weird bug in some node, but here is one example that should work after the bug is solved: untitled.blend (756.8 KB)

If you wish to clamp the vertical rotation: you would not need to store the rotation in a variable like i’ve done, it is just the way i think it is more clean, but you can just use Get Object Rotation and separate vector instead.

1 Like

I see. Thanks for the help. Quick question though: what about using the bundled ThirdPersonController script? Not sure how to use it. I managed to use the first person controller but got weird things popping up in front of the camera.