How to move Character with left joystick of a controller

Hi, I’m a beginner on Armory3D and I want my character to move using the left joystick. I tried with the Logic Node Gamepad Stick but it has a lot of bugs. I am trying with Logic Gamepad Coord and with Logic Node Math and Translate Object but when I run the game in Armory Player the character still does not move. Here is an image of the Logic Nodes I used.

First, try not to multiply by 0.000.

2 Likes

Ok I understood I added as value 0.6 to value 1 and it works. On the other hand, the cube always moves a little bit when I let go of the left analog stick.
Resolution

Unless your character physics is causing it to move (i.e. you’re on a hill/slope), you might need to implement some threshold when you retrieve your gamepad’s, joystick coordinates. FYI, joystick is almost always an issue when making your own joystick controls in any game-engine/software (it’s not a bug), as different controllers/software use different sensitivity rates, so it’s usually left to the developer to implement/adjust it. Sensitivity that seems too high on one device may be too low on another, and vice-versa, so it’s usually recommended to allow the user/player to allow customizeation of the joystick thresholds manually, through provided settings.

I haven’t put any physics in my demo yet. How do you adjust the sensitivity threshold?

You’ll need to implement the threshold yourself, by checking if the gamepad coordinates are equal or greater than or equal or lesser than a certain value.

With which Logic Nodes to use to know which if the gamepad coordinates are equal are equal or greater than or equal or lesser?

I’m not 100% sure (Because math isn’t my best skill), but I believe the Gate node would do this?

I don’t really know how to do with the Gate node.
Capture3