Move character to random location on navmesh

Hi, probably a simple thing to do but im new to game engines.

I want to have a computer controlled character to get a random location on the navmesh and move to it every few seconds or so.

Thanks in advance!

Do do it so it goes randomly to truly any position on the navmesh with logic nodes would be difficult in my opinion, although I’d be very happy for someone to prove me wrong! :slight_smile: I would suggest that an easier way would be to have a collection of empties at various points, which are all in put into an array with the Set Array node, and then you use a Random Integer node to get a random one of them back, get it’s location and spawn your character at that location.

In this way you can have a collection of as many random spawn points as you wish.

There are other ways with other limitations, such as if it’s ok for the character to spawn anywhere in a flat rectangle, you can just plug random integers into a set location node. If it’s ok for them to spawn anywhere in a circle (of varying height), you could plug two random integers into the rotation of an object, which then uses a Cast Physics Ray node to cast a ray onto the navmesh and wherever the hit location is, the character spawns.

1 Like

maybe you could use the GetMeshNode and for example use the z coordinate in your mesh data that corresponds to the same x,y of your object.

Interesting… I’m not familiar with GetMeshNode (and I don’t see it mentioned in the docs). What does it do? Return an xyz coordinate on a mesh surface? How does that work in something like a sphere where there may be more than one point that corresponds with the x and y and different depths of z?