Need help! Edit script no editor comes up

I am new to Armory and never done scripting before, but very interested in armory because of it’s seems to be fairly easy to use. I just want to be able to write traits. When I press edit node button, windows message comes up, “What program do you want to open with this?”. (My own words, don’t remember exact). I thought I would just put blender, but now when I press it just opens up blender again. I have searched the internet trying to figure out how to undo this, nothing works. I also want to know what I am suppose to use and how for editing codes? Please help! Thank you!!!

1 Like

Hi and welcome!

You can change the editor configuration in the Armory preferences, as explained here in the wiki: https://github.com/armory3d/armory/wiki/setup#code-editor.

3 Likes

I tried to follow the instructions on the site you gave me but it is still not working correctly. I took snippets of the error’s I get and the setup. I can use the nodes on armory but I cannot get Kode to come up.

python Error 2

Blender:
blenderHaxe

KodeStudio (windows):

3 Likes

As @toot wrote, you need to select a text editor, not Krom. Krom is a runtime that runs your game, but you don’t use it to edit Haxe scripts.

Edit Tree will open the selected trait in the node editor in Blender (on the left in your screenshot) and not in another program. If you don’t see much it is probably because your logic tree has no nodes yet. If the name of the tree is displayed at the top of the node editor everything is fine :slight_smile:

From Editor will take the node tree that is opened in the node editor and will replace the trait’s tree with that.

There are a few wiki pages that can help you getting started:

2 Likes