Noob Question - export colored model

Hi,

I’m totally new to 3d, I only want to add basic colors to an existing model and then upload it to Shapeways for color printing. Originally I already had a colored model, but after fixing it for 3d printing, I got an .STL, which is color-less.

Problem: I can’t figure out how to get a painted model out of ArmorPaint in an ‘useable’ format (e.g. .X3D, a Collada .dae with included textures or whatever).

Maybe I understood the concept totally wrong, but could someone please tell me STEP BY STEP, suitable for noobs, how to get from ArmorPaint .arm to ‘useable color model’ that ‘any application will accept’?

Why can’t there just be a button ‘Export as .dae with textures’ or something ?? I know this tool is basically for creating color maps, but still…

The so-called ‘manual’ seems to address only the pro’s - it goes great lengths to list all features, but as it seems expects users to already know how stuff like ‘nodes’ work, and says nothing about how you can get to your ‘colored finished model’ in the end. Same for the tutorials on Youtube, that use super-high resolution and black design where someone not-yet familiar with the basic procedures can neither read the options on the screen nor understand what happens…

Sooo… can anybody help? I would prefer NOT to use Blender, but if there is no other way, please explain EXACTLY what I have to do there, INCLUDING exactly on which options I have to click.

Lots of thanks…

If you need only solid colors for individual parts of your object, them i suppose ArmorPaint has nothing to do with, only if you are planing to “draw” a detailed texture. Some steps you can try:

1. Import your model in Blender
  2. Click your model
  3. Use TAB to enter the edit mode
  4. In the top bar, select Faces mode
  5. Select the faces you wan’t to change the color
  6. Assign a new material to the selected faces
  7. Change the color of the material