Question about re-use meshes in Blender

Hi! I’m a newbie in game engine I had try using UE4 b4. In UE4 tutorial online, someone saids that no matter how many you duplicate the same mesh in the scene the computer will calculate as one mesh. Does it apply in Armory 3d too?

The general principal is the same in Armory, however it’s not exactly true in any game engine that one mesh duplicated 10,000 times takes the same processing power as one mesh. It will take a heck of a lot less than 10,000 different meshes though if it’s done through something like instancing on the GPU.

Anyway, the short version is that what you’re talking about, while a bit inaccurate, is a general principal of 3D in general, not one specific game engine, although different engines will usually implement anything somewhat differently to others.

Usually what you have is 10,000 references to just one set of mesh-data (with a “reference-count” equal to 10,000). This is the “instancing” concept mentioned in the post which follows this one: the data is referred-to, not copied.

But remember, “whatever is now visible to the camera” represents “more work for the game engine,” regardless, no matter how it is represented in memory. (Data which is not visible but which is presented to it anyway requires some time for “culling” as the engine decides that you can’t see it.)

You always want to practice the Mamma Bear Rule: “Not too much, not too little, just right.”

For instance, consider creating objects and then “reaping” them later when they pass sufficiently out of view. Or, keep a small stable of “nasties” and move them back into view ahead of the player once he leaves them behind – the viewer will never know, but the hardware will. Don’t keep a bunch of stuff in memory if it’s not being used or likely to be used very soon. And, don’t use more mesh-detail than you must have to successfully put on the show.

1 Like